Cantos verticales

— May 2024

Opus : 26 / Type d'œuvre : Pour voix et instrument(s)

Roberto Juarroz, an Argentinian poet who died at the turn of the century, named his entire work “Poesia vertical”, and published nearly fifteen collections under this title. This is the story of a whole life, lived in constant concern for being, which places the poet alongside the philosophers and mystics. However, no doctrine – nor any Faith – is apparent: it is rather a question of questioning what surrounds us or what we are, of keeping open the field of all research: “Life and poetry are a succession of births…”.

Difficulty rating: difficult

Roberto Juarroz
Texts collected and put into a booklet by the composer.

Children’s choir (S1, S2, MS1, MS2 with soloists) and string quartet

20 minutes approx.

6 parts cycle : 1. Estoy despierto, 2. La campana, 3. El fruto se rompe, 4. Llueve sobre el pensamiento, 5. Si has perdido tu nombre, 6. Un amor 



Editeur : Éditions Musicales du Tremble -